The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick

Known as one the sacraments of healing, this sacrament was instituted by Christ to strengthen the sick and dying to face the challenges that come with illness, to interceded for the restoration of health, and to remit the sin of the infirm.

This sacrament is not only for those who are at the point of death. “When anyone of the faithful begins to be in danger of death from sickness or old age, the fitting time for him to receive this sacrament has certainly already arrived” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1514).

Therefore the sacrament may be received by anyone who has a serious illness, those preparing for surgery, and those who suffer difficulties because of advanced age.

Who Administers this Sacrament?

Only priests (bishops and presbyters) are ministers of the Anointing of the Sick. Those administering the sacrament will do so using oil blessed by the bishop, or if necessary by the celebrating presbyter himself. The faithful should encourage the sick to call for a priest to receive this sacrament (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1516).

How is this Sacrament Celebrated?

Like all sacraments, the Anointing of the Sick is a liturgical and communal celebration, whether it takes place in the family home, a hospital or church, for a single sick person or a whole group of sick persons (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1518).

The celebration of the sacrament includes the following principal elements:

  • priests lays his hands on the sick
  • praying over the sick in the faith of the Church
  • anointing of the sick with oil blessed by the bishop

If circumstances allow it, the celebration of the sacrament can be preceded by the sacrament of penance and followed by the sacrament of the Eucharist.

The Sacrament of Marriage

” A man, therefore, will leave his father and mother and will cling to his wife, and the two will become one flesh. And so the yare no longer two, they are one flesh; what God, then, has joined, let no man put asunder.”

Mathew 19:5-6

The Sacrament of The Eucharist

The Eucharist is the “source and summit of the Christian Life” (Lumen Gentium, 11). It is the sacrament in which Christ is really and truly present under the appearances of bread and wine. The Sacrament of the Eucharist was described as follows by the Second Vatican Council:

At the Last Supper, on the night when he was betrayed, our Savior instituted the Eucharistic Sacrifice of his Body and Blood. He did this in order to perpetuate the Sacrifice of the Cross throughout the centuries until he should come again, and so to entrust to his beloved spouse, the Church, a memorial of his death and resurrection: a sacrament of love, a sign of unity, a bond of charity, a paschal banquet in which Christ is consumed, the mind is filled with grace, and a pledge of future glory is given to us (Catechism of the Catholic Church 1322-1419).

The Sacrament Of Reconciliation

The Sacrament of Reconciliation is a conversion of heart away from sin and toward God. It begins with remorse for having offended God and entails both a change in one’s life and a determination to avoid the further occasion of sin (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1427-33).

The sacrament consists of four parts or acts of the penitent:

  1. Contrition: In order to be forgiven, we need to have sorrow for our sins. This means turning away from evil and turning to God. It also includes determination to avoid such sins in the future (USCCA, 265).
  2. Confession: For there to be true repentance, the words of remorse must be spoken aloud. Confession is the baring of the soul, the humble prostration before the Father who runs to meet the repentant sinner, and welcomes with embracing love (Liturgy Documents Vol. 2, 160).
  3. Act of Penance: Consists of prayer, an offering, works of mercy, service of neighbor, voluntary self-denial, and/or sacrifices. Such pennies help become co-heirs with the risen Christ. (Liturgy Documents Vol. 2, 160).
  4. Absolution: The penitent is invited to express sorrow, in one’s own words or from a choice of prayers. With the imposition of hands, the priest’s absolution completes the sacrament by being a visible sign of God’s mercy and pardon to the repentant sinner, a sign made in, by, and through the Church.

The Sacrament Of Confirmation

The Sacrament of Confirmation is usually administered in the Spring of the year dependent on the schedule of the Bishop for Children enrolled in their 8th grade (having completed requirements necessary for reception of the sacrament). Confirmation is also celebrated during the Easter Season for those enrolled in the adult program.

Along with baptism and the Eucharist, Confirmation is considered one of the three “sacraments of initiation.” Confirmation was instituted by Christ in his promise to send the Holy Spirit (John 14:15-21).

That promise found fulfillment at Pentecost, when the Holy spirit descended on the apostles. The Apostles were transformed by the Holy Spirit, receiving the powers of speaking persuasively, performing miracles, and demonstrating the personal holiness of Christian life (Catholic Bible Dictionary, 159).

The Effects of Confirmation

Confirmation is the special outpouring of the Holy Spirit as once granted to the Apostles on the day of Pentecost (Catechism of the Catholic Church,1302-1303):

  • it roots us more deeply in the divine filiation
  • it unites us more firmly to Christ
  • it increases the gifts of the Holy Spirit within us
  • it renders our bond with the Church more perfect
  • it gives a special strength of the Holy Spirit to spread and defend the faith by word and action as true witnesses of Christ, to confess the name of Christ boldly, and never to be ashamed of the Cross.

The Sacrament Of Baptism

Baptism: The first of the seven sacraments, and the “door” which gives access to the other sacraments. Baptism is the first and chief sacrament of forgiveness of sins because it unites us with Christ, who died for our sins and rose for our justification. Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist constitute the “sacraments of initiation” by which a believer receives the remission of original and personal sin, begins a new life in Christ and the Holy Spirit, and is incorporated into the Church, the Body of Christ. The rite of Baptism consists in immersing the candidate in water, or pouring water on the head, while pronouncing the invocation of the Most Holy Trinity: the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit (977, 1213 ff.; 1275, 1278).

There are no baptisms during Lent.  Arrangements for other days can be made by contacting the parish office.  Parents who are planning for the baptism of their first child are required to complete our Baptism Preparation Class which includes information about the ceremony and more importantly about being a Catholic parent and raising a child in our faith.